The Little Fox

and Other Mongolian Folktales - Concept Recording

The Little Fox And Other Mongolian Folktales

is a two-act children’s folk opera with book, music & lyrics by

Andrew Fisher.

It intertwines four tales with Mongolian folk musical melodies, Mongolian instruments and techniques, and combines them within a western popular musical sensibility. The selected stories, which feature across a range of published Mongolian folk legends, include The Wise Judge, The Fool And The Moon, Why The Camel Rolls In The Ashes, and The Faithful Little Fox.

Andrew Fisher,

composer, lyricist and book writer, has successfully created music for theatre, film and TV and has worked on Emmy-winning and BAFTA, Emmy and Golden Globe-nominated projects. Andrew’s most recent musical

Girl In A Crisis


starring Olivier Award winner

Lorna Want


was performed in London in 2018 and is also available from SimG Records.

The Little Fox

was recorded in Ulaan Bataar, Mongolia at the prestigious White Arch Studio with a professional Mongolian cast and musicians, the physical album comes complete with a 32page full colour booklet including synopsis and lyrics.


  1. Introduction
  2. The First Day Of Spring
  3. Naming Day
  4. Market Song
  5. The Rich Herdsman And The Fool
  6. The Little Fox And The Son
  7. The Camel And The Mouse
  8. The Rich Herdsman And The Wise Judge
  9. Stars Above
  10. One Day I Could Be A Hero
  11. You’re My Best Friend
  12. The Snake
  13. Act One Finale
  14. Entr’acte
  15. The First Night Of Spring
  16. What Have You Done?
  17. Tiny Little Lie
  18. Pulling Up The Moon
  19. The Mouse Wins
  20. The Little Fox Dies
  21. Interlude
  22. Negotiate
  23. Such A Fool
  24. Fool Hero Song
  25. Market Song / Tiny Little Lie Reprise
  26. Always Your Friend
  27. Sumptuous Feast
  28. Such A Fool / Naming Day Reprise
  29. Finale

Released 7th September 2020 - Catalogue No: SimGR-CD037


LISTEN NOW... to a selection of tracks from the album

✭✭✭✭ " There’s something other-worldly about the music … the level of detail makes these stories accessible, with absolutely no need to do any ‘homework’ or background reading … an absorbing introduction to Mongolian folklore, whose lessons are remarkably timeless … in the right hands, a full production could prove to be a spectacle."

Chris Omaweng, LondonTheatre1

8/10 " Fisher illustrates wonderfully how he's not content to sit in his comfort zone, by getting as far away as possible from the subject matter of the wonderful ‘Girl in a Crisis’ … the four tales are expertly woven together … As a concept recording this is extremely well realised. The music is uplifting and engaging and certainly one that will entertain adults just as much as children."

Daisy May, Review Graveyard

✭✭✭✭✭ " tracks are all beautifully written and conjure up the spirit of the folktales involved … a full Mongolian cast just adds to the authenticity of the recording … [cultural instruments] combined with exquisite voices and harmonies – this is one very special album."

Nick Wakeham, Musical Theatre Review

" The cultural influence shines through every moment, with the vocals quite simply exquisite. They are layered with gorgeous harmonies, which pair beautifully alongside the textured orchestrations. The use of Mongolian instruments is wonderful, and I love how they are used to push the story forward … [the album] definitely has many moments of excellence."

Jenny Ell, BroadwayWorldUK

The Little Fox CD