Original London Cast Recording

The critically acclaimed cabaret revue that celebrates 90 years and 3 generations of Sherman family songwriting.

Al Sherman

was one of the most sought after songwriters on Tin Pan Alley, with songs recorded by Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, Frank Sinatra, Al Jolson, Bing Crosby, amongst others. Al’s sons,

Robert and Richard Sherman

, are the most successful song-writing partnership in the history of Hollywood, writing Oscar winning songs for

Mary Poppins, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, The Jungle Book, The Aristocats

and more. Robert’s son Robbie was the youngest songwriter to join the BMI, and has gone on to write for television, film and theatre. In 2014, together with musical director Colin Billing, Robbie created

A Spoonful Of Sherman

to celebrate his family’s astonishing songwriting legacy.

The double-disc recording features a 20-page colour booklet, narration by

Robert J Sherman

, and over 40 classic Sherman songs. Arrangements are by

Colin Billing

, produced by

Nick Lloyd Webber

and stars the original London cast:

Greg Castiglioni


Stuart Matthew Price


Charlotte Wakefield

, (two-time Olivier nominee,

Sound Of Music, Spring Awakening)


Emma Williams

(two-time Olivier nominee,

Zorro, Love Story).



  1. A Spoonful Of Sherman
  2. Narration I / Save Your Sorrow
  3. Al Sherman Medley: Livin' In the Sunlight / Now's The Time To Fall In Love / You Gotta Be A Football Hero
  4. Narration II
  5. There's A Harbour Of Dreamboats
  6. Narration III
  7. Comes A-Long A-Love / You're Sixteen
  8. Tall Paul
  9. Let's Get Together
  10. Narration IV
  11. For Now, For Always
  12. The Ugly Bug Ball
  13. There's A Great Big Beautiful Tomorrow
  14. Narration V
  15. Wind's In The East…
  16. A Spoonful of Sugar
  17. Feed The Birds
  18. A Man Has Dreams
  19. Step In Time / Chim Chim Cher-ee / Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious


  1. Heffalumps And Woozles
  2. The Wonderful Thing About Tiggers
  3. Winnie The Pooh
  4. Narration VI
  5. That's What Friends Are For
  6. My Own Home
  7. I Wanna Be Like You
  8. Narration VII
  9. The Age Of Not Believing
  10. Narration VIII
  11. A Veritable Smorgasbord
  12. Mother Earth And Father Time
  13. Narration IX
  14. River Song
  15. Narration X
  16. Suddenly It Happens
  17. Tell Him Anything
  18. Narration XI
  19. Heart Of A Stranger
  20. Narration XII
  21. Jiggery Pokery
  22. Music Of The Spheres
  23. Narration XIII
  24. Tin Whistle Tune
  25. Narration XIV
  26. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Part 1) / Doll On A Music Box / Truly Scrumptious
  27. Me Ol' Bamboo
  28. Hushabye Mountain
  29. Lovely Lonely Man
  30. Teamwork
  31. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Part 2)
  32. It's A Small World (After All)
  33. Narration XV
  34. Let's Go Fly A Kite
  35. Bonus Track: It's A Small World (2011 Lyric)

Released 13th July 2015 - Catalogue No: SimGR-CD027

LISTEN NOW... to a selection of tracks from the album

"A nostalgic sugar rush. It’s like hearing your childhood stripped down to 4 people, a narrator, and a piano. Charlotte Wakefield gives wonderful heart and belt to lesser-known tunes, giving them new breathe. Emma Williams gives equal passion, reminiscent of a young Angela Lansbury in ability & power even in her softer moments. The men give hilarious and engaging characterizations in their songs … Colin Billing’s musical direction and piano chops are top-notch, displaying his instincts that put him among the best cabaret accompanists. The CD is a wonderful love letter to the Sherman family legacy … There is heart at the centre of this show and it is most prominent in the performers and narration."

Public Reviews ✭✭✭✭.5

"Sit back, relax and slip away into the Songbook of your Childhood … Colin Billing has kept the music simple, just the talented cast along with his ivories leave the songs wide open to be listened to and appreciated for their lyrics and musical tone. The narration is excellent … this really is one of those albums with something for everyone ... a wonderful journey … Magic."


8/10 "a wonderful collection of songs, anecdotes and memories. Performances, especially from Stuart Matthew Price and Emma Williams are exquisite … Colin Billing comes up with some imaginative arrangements - one of the toughest jobs when you are working with standards like these. The double cd package is excellent, as we have now come to expect from SimG, and as always is very informative. Another top-rate release from what I firmly believe is the UK’s biggest supporter of new musicals."

Review Graveyard

"a delightful recording that preserves one of the most sparkling revues of recent years ... [featuring] some of the UKs finest musical theatre performers. Offering so much more than just a collection of beautifully performed songs, this is a lovingly crafted tribute to a pair of the 20th century’s cultural giants. A gorgeous CD."

MyTheatreMates ✭✭✭✭✭

"It is simply a cornucopia of delights! … delivered by a wonderful quartet. Yet another triumph for SimG Records ... One for the shopping list."

Musical Theatre Review

✭✭✭✭"A show that strings together one joyous hit after another, delivered by a first rate quartet of singers."

Clive Davis, The Times

✭✭✭✭"Robbie Sherman narrates the evening with a clear sense of pride. The heartwarming stories about his family really give a personal touch. It brings a new meaning to many of the lyrics when you understand their backgrounds and this makes the evening that little bit more special. The most important part - the singing - is also rather beautiful."


"I predict a great future for A Spoonful of Sherman … great cast!."

Musical Theatre Review

✭✭✭✭"A delightful way to spend a couple of hours - great fun."

The Public Reviews

✭✭✭✭✭"Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious! An evening of magic and delight."


"Something magical happened at St James Theatre – it was a night of revelation, emotion and sheer joy."

Bargain Theatreland

"A cavalcade of Sherman, three generations, no medicine, just charm, and one or two genuine surprises."

Edward Seckerson

✭✭✭✭✭"It really was supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. A truly scrumptious smorgasbord of smash hits by the Sherman Brothers."

UK Theatre Web